athenasbeauty

A blog about modern feminity and beauty.

Why I Study Feminism September 18, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Athena's Beauty @ 7:46 pm
Tags:

Ok, so this is going to be short and sweet because I’m in school now and things are just a bit too busy for me to spend much time blogging, though I have a lot of things I want to say. I guess it will all just have to wait until I have a break.

Anyway, this is a short blurb I wrote for a class that I wanted to share with all of you.

For most of my educational career I have read the histories of men who fought for freedom or rights or other noble causes, but what did those fights have to do with me? Their victories were hollow for women who were oppressed even when the rest of society was free. As I began studying feminism, especially the first wave, I found my own history. I can attend a prominent university to receive a quality education which will prepare me for almost any job I could want because women like Mary Wollstonecraft, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Virginia Woolf fought for their rights and for mine.

Keep thinking, keep dreaming, and keep being you!

 

3 Responses to “Why I Study Feminism”

  1. Haha, I definitely know what you mean about having no time in college. I’m in the same boat myself.

    Thank you for the reminder about why studying feminism is important, I could definitely use it today :).


Leave a comment